PRESS RELEASE

Russell Elected 2017 Chair of Indiana Bankers Association

For Immediate Release: Sept. 20, 2016





Annette M. Russell, president and chief executive officer of Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport, has been elected 2017 chair of the board of directors of the Indiana Bankers Association (IBA). She currently serves the IBA as first vice chair and was elected to her new position at the IBA's annual business meeting on Sept. 12 in French Lick, Indiana. When Russell takes office effective Jan. 1, 2017, she will be the first female in the Association's 120-year history to serve in the IBA's top leadership position. Also in 2017, Amber R. Van Til, current IBA president, will be the first female to hold the title of IBA president and chief executive officer.

Russell joined Security Federal Savings Bank in 1991. A certified public accountant, Russell is a graduate of Indiana University-Kokomo, of the Graduate School of Bank Investments and Financial Management and of the Stonier Graduate School of Banking. She serves on

the American Bankers Association Community Bankers Council, and in June 2016 she was appointed to the Indiana Board of Depositories by Gov. Mike Pence. Past involvement includes service on the board of trustees of Logansport Memorial Hospital; as campaign chair for the United Way; as chair of the Logansport/ Cass County Economic Development Corp.; on the Reading Railroad advisory board; and on the boards of directors of the Cass County Chamber of Commerce and Special Olympics of Cass County. Additionally she had prior service on the board of the Indiana Bankers Association as second vice chair and northwest region director. Russell was granted the Indiana University Kokomo Alumni Association's Distinguished Alumni Award in 2006, was inducted into the IU Kokomo Alumni Hall of Fame in 2013, was named Chamber of Commerce Business Woman of the Year for 2007-08 and completed the IBA Leadership Development Program in 2013. She has been honored twice by *NorthWestern Financial Review* magazine – as a Rising Star in Banking in 2010 and as an Outstanding Woman in Banking in 2014

The 21 members of the 2017 Indiana Bankers Association board of directors, effective Jan. 1, 2017, are listed below:

IBA Officers

Chair - Annette M. Russell, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport
First Vice Chair - Clay W. Ewing, German American, Jasper
Second Vice Chair - Andrew J. Briggs, Bank of Geneva
Immediate Past Chair - Michael H. Head, First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville
President and Chief Executive Officer - Amber R. Van Til, JD, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis
[Note: CEO position effective Jan. 1, 2017]

Constituent Directors

ICBA State Director - **David M. Geis**, Jackson County Bank, Seymour ABA Membership Council - **Michael K. Bauer**, Your Community Bank, New Albany Future Leadership Division President - **Kristin Marcuccilli**, STAR Bank, Fort Wayne Non-Indiana Headquartered Bank Director - **Tim Massey**, BMO Harris Bank, Indianapolis

[Continued]

Northeast Region Directors

Michael S. Zahn, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington Michael C. Marhenke, iAB Financial Bank, Fort Wayne Jeffrey W. Gump, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Laotto

Northwest Region Directors

Arden L. Cramer, Logansport Savings Bank Joseph D. Carlson, Community State Bank, Royal Center Benjamin J. Bochnowski, Peoples Bank, Munster

Southeast Region Directors

Dennis Wayman, State Bank of Medora George W. Ferriell, Bath State Bank Archie M. Brown Jr., MainSource Financial Group, Greensburg

Southwest Region Directors

Michael L. Baker, State Bank of Lizton Kent L. Parisien, The First National Bank of Odon Matthew W. Howrey, North Salem State Bank



<u>Photo Caption:</u> Annette M. Russell, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport, accepts the Indiana Bankers Association leadership gavel from current IBA Chair Michael H. Head, First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville.

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues analysis, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association

6925 Parkdale Place
Indianapolis IN 46254-4673
Phone: 317-917-8047 / Fax: 317-387-8553
Twitter: @IndianaBankers / Website: indianabankers.org
Contact: Josh Myers, jmyers@indianabankers.org