# **News Release**

# Kleer Elected 2022 Chairman of Indiana Bankers Association



For immediate release August 17, 2021



Garry D. Kleer, chairman, president and CEO of First Bank Richmond, has been elected 2022 chairman of the Board of Directors of the Indiana Bankers Association. The election took place Aug. 16 during the IBA Annual Convention in French Lick. Kleer currently serves the IBA as first vice chairman and will become chairman effective Jan. 1, 2022.

Kleer is chairman, president and CEO of First Bank Richmond. He also is chairman, president and CEO of Richmond Mutual Bancorporation. Kleer joined the bank in 1994 as vice president of commercial lending and was

promoted in 2001 to president and CEO. His community involvement includes service on the boards of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Wayne County, Reid Health Foundation, Richmond Symphony Orchestra and Wayne County Foundation. He has been recognized with the Indiana University East Chancellor's Medallion, Junior Achievement Business Hall of Fame, Richmond/Wayne County Distinguished Community Leader, and Boys & Girls Clubs Man and Youth Award. In 2020, he was awarded the Indiana University Bicentennial Medal for distinguished service. Kleer is a graduate of Indiana University, the Graduate School of Commercial Lending and the Stonier Graduate School of Banking.

Following are members of the 2022 IBA Board of Directors, effective Jan. 1, 2022:

## **IBA Officers**

Garry D. Kleer, Chairman, First Bank Richmond

Jamie R. Shinabarger, First Vice Chairman, Springs Valley Bank & Trust Company, Jasper

Benjamin J. Bochnowski, Second Vice Chairman, Peoples Bank, Munster

Michael S. Zahn, Immediate Past Chairman, First Federal Savings Bank, Huntington

Amber R. Van Til, President and CEO, Indiana Bankers Association, Indianapolis

# **Constituent Directors**

Michael K. Bauer, ABA Membership Council, WesBanco Bank, Wheeling, WV Michael H. Head, ICBA State Director, First Federal Savings Bank, Evansville John Corbin, Non-Indiana Headquartered Bank Director, Huntington National Bank, Columbus, OH Jon-Myckle D. Price, Future Leadership Division President, Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport

#### **Regional and At-Large Directors**

David M. Findlay, At-Large, Lake City Bank, Warsaw
Kent A. Liechty, At-Large, First Bank of Berne
Jeffrey W. Gump, North Region, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Laotto
Daniel Maddox, North Region, Citizens State Bank, New Castle

Jacqueline M. Ruge-Perkins, North Region, First State Bank of Porter Jessica Carroll, South Region, The New Washington State Bank, Charlestown Gregory Inman, South Region, Scottsburg Building and Loan Association John M. Kennedy, South Region, Greenfield Banking Company



2022 IBA Chairman Garry D. Kleer (left) receives the chairman's gavel from 2021 Chairman Michael S. Zahn.

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

## **Indiana Bankers Association**

8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers

Contact: Laura Wilson, <a href="mailto:lwilson@indiana.bank">lwilson@indiana.bank</a>, 317-333-7146