Russell Granted Circle of Corydon Award

Annette M. Russell, president and CEO of Security Federal Savings Bank, Logansport, has been granted a Circle of Corydon award by Gov. Eric J. Holcomb. Russell also serves the banking community as 2017 chair of the Indiana Bankers Association (IBA). She was presented with the Circle of Corydon award, which recognizes exemplary citizens who have made remarkable contributions to the betterment of Indiana, on Sept. 12 at the IBA Annual Convention in French Lick.


Russell joined Security Federal Savings Bank in 1991. A certified public accountant, she is a graduate of Indiana University-Kokomo, of the Graduate School of Bank Investments and Financial Management and of the Stonier Graduate School of Banking. She serves on the American Bankers Association Community Bankers Council, and in June 2016 she was appointed to the Indiana Board of Depositories by then Gov. Mike Pence. Past community involvement includes service on the board of trustees of Logansport Memorial Hospital; as campaign chair for the United Way; as chair of the Logansport/ Cass County Economic Development Corp.; on the Reading Railroad advisory board; and on the boards of directors of the Cass County Chamber of Commerce and Special Olympics of Cass County. Additionally she had prior service on the IBA board of directors as first vice chair, second vice chair and northwest region director. Russell was granted the Indiana University Kokomo Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumni Award in 2006, was inducted into the IU Kokomo Alumni Hall of Fame in 2013, was named Chamber of Commerce Business Woman of the Year for 2007-08 and completed the IBA Leadership Development Program in 2013. She has been honored twice by NorthWestern Financial Review magazine ‒ as a Rising Star in Banking in 2010 and as an Outstanding Woman in Banking in 2014. When Russell became chair of the Indiana Bankers Association effective Jan. 1, 2017, she was the first female in the Association’s 120-year history to serve in the IBA’s top leadership position.