News Release

Tanselle Named Leader in Banking Excellence



For immediate release August 21, 2020



John W. Tanselle, a partner at SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis, is being honored by the Indiana Bankers Association with the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence award, to be presented at a private ceremony in December in Indianapolis. This award, the Association's highest honor, celebrates exceptional leaders who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve.

At the upcoming awards event, Indiana dignitaries from private and public sectors will be making presentations, and honorees will have the opportunity to offer comments. Additionally, participants will be invited to visit the IBA offices to view the Leaders in

Banking Excellence wall, with plaques showcasing each honoree to remain on permanent display. Each honoree is to receive a keepsake plaque at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired leaders in banking. All were nominated by IBA members and approved unanimously by the IBA Board of Directors.

Tanselle biography:

John W. Tanselle, a partner at SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis, co-chairs the firm's financial services practice group. A practicing attorney since 1981, he helped draft banking-related Title 28 of Indiana Code. Tanselle is a former trustee for Methodist Health Foundation and Christian Theological Seminary, as well as a past board member of the Indianapolis Public Library Foundation. He has earned multiple awards including: Best Lawyers Indianapolis Banking and Finance Law Lawyer of the Year in 2014; Best Lawyers in America; Indiana Super Lawyers; and recognitions from the *Indianapolis Business Journal* for Who's Who in Banking and 40 Under 40. Tanselle is a Distinguished Fellow of the Indianapolis Bar Foundation and a member of the Indianapolis, Indiana State and American bar associations. He earned a bachelor's degree from Indiana University and a JD from the IU Robert H. McKinney School of Law.

Congratulations to the 2020 class of IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence:

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Clarksville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association 8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers Contact: Laura Wilson, <u>Iwilson@indiana.bank</u>, 317-333-7146