News Release

Isch Named Leader in Banking Excellence



For immediate release July 16, 2020



Charles E. Isch, retired president and CEO of First Bank of Berne, is being honored by the Indiana Bankers Association with the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence award, to be presented at a private ceremony in December in Indianapolis. This award, the Association's highest honor, celebrates exceptional leaders who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve.

At the upcoming awards event, Indiana dignitaries from private and public sectors will be making presentations, and honorees will have the opportunity to offer comments. Additionally, participants will be invited to visit the IBA offices to view the Leaders in

Banking Excellence wall, with plaques showcasing each honoree to remain on permanent display. Each honoree is to receive a keepsake plaque at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired leaders in banking. All were nominated by IBA members and approved unanimously by the IBA Board of Directors.

Isch biography:

Charles E. Isch retired as president and CEO of First Bank of Berne in 2010 and as a director in 2015. He served his full banking career with First Bank of Berne, joining in 1964 as a teller. Isch is past president of the Berne Chamber of Commerce and was named Berne Citizen of the Year in 2009. He has served in leadership capacity with organizations including the Muensterberg Plaza and Clock Tower project, Swiss Village Inc., Berne Community Development Corp. and Habitat for Humanity. Isch twice served on the board of the Indiana Bankers Association and once on the board of the Community Bankers Association of Indiana, which later merged with the IBA. He is a graduate of International Business College, completed the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin and is a member of the IBA 40 Year Club.

Congratulations to the 2020 class of IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence:

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Clarksville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

Indiana Bankers Association 8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers Contact: Laura Wilson, <u>Iwilson@indiana.bank</u>, 317-333-7146