## **News Release**

## Harrod Named Leader in Banking Excellence



For immediate release July 14, 2020



**William W. Harrod**, president and CEO of First Harrison Bank, Corydon, is being honored by the Indiana Bankers Association with the IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence award, to be presented at a private ceremony in December in Indianapolis. This award, the Association's highest honor, celebrates exceptional leaders who have positively impacted Indiana banks and the communities they serve.

At the upcoming awards event, Indiana dignitaries from private and public sectors will be making presentations, and honorees will have the opportunity to offer comments. Additionally, participants will be invited to visit the IBA offices to view the Leaders in

Banking Excellence wall, with plaques showcasing each honoree to remain on permanent display. Each honoree is to receive a keepsake plaque at the awards ceremony.

The 2020 Leaders in Banking Excellence represent a range of current and retired leaders in banking. All were nominated by IBA members and approved unanimously by the IBA Board of Directors.

## Harrod biography:

William W. Harrod, president and CEO of First Harrison Bank, Corydon, began his banking career in 1978. He served with Harrison County Bank, Mutual Trust Bank and Louisville Trust Bank before joining First Harrison Bank in 2000 as chief operating officer. Harrod's community leadership includes past service as: president and chair of the Harrison County Chamber of Commerce; founding member and chair of Leadership Harrison County; founding member of Habitat for Humanity of Harrison County; chair of United Way of Harrison County; and board member of Blue River Services Inc. Additionally, he was 2001 chairman of the Community Bankers Association of Indiana, which later merged with the Indiana Bankers Association, and he is a member of the IBA 40 Year Club. Harrod is a graduate of Eastern Kentucky University and of the Graduate School of Banking at the University of Wisconsin.

Congratulations to the 2020 class of IBA Leaders in Banking Excellence:

George L. Allison, Owen County State Bank, Spencer Craig M. Dwight, Horizon Bank, Michigan City Clay W. Ewing, German American Bank, Jasper William W. Harrod, First Harrison Bank, Corydon Charles E. Isch, First Bank of Berne

Gene E. Miles, First Farmers Bank & Trust, Converse Larry W. Myers, First Savings Bank, Jeffersonville John W. Tanselle, SmithAmundsen LLC, Indianapolis Ryan M. Warner, Bippus State Bank, Huntington David G. Wihebrink, Logansport Savings Bank

###

The Indiana Bankers Association supports Indiana banking through issues advocacy, professional education, and products and services that enhance financial institutions' ability to help build better communities.

## **Indiana Bankers Association**

8425 Woodfield Crossing Blvd., Suite 155E, Indianapolis, IN 46240-7321 Indiana.bank / @indianabankers Contact: Laura Wilson, <a href="mailto:lwilson@indiana.bank">lwilson@indiana.bank</a>, 317-333-7146